Resources
 This Week's Contests
 Classified Ads
 Contest Links
 Product Reviews

Site Information
 About This Site
 Contesting.com Team

Contesting Online Forums : Tips : post contest review of qso's errors Forums Help

1-3 of 3 messages

Page 1 of 1  

post contest review of qso's errors Reply
by af4od on February 20, 2001 Mail this to a friend!
hello
I'm new to contesting and i need some advice. I participated this past weekend in the arrl dx cw contest. I only worked the contest part-time, whenever i could get a chance. I used tr-log to record my qso's. Anyhow, after the contest i reviewed my log and i found many errors that i had made. Most of the errors were beginner mistakes like recording an "h" for a "s" or a "4" for a "v". My cw is ok, but i still have lots to learn. By creating these mistakes, i have a false score. Should i go back and delete the qso's of my mistakes or forget them and let the contest manager work with them. I can see where leaving them would be good, cause the dx station got my call ok, and there is some sort of record of the qso for the manager.
Also, i may have written some of the exchanges down wrong. The exchange for the contest station was his power level. I received these pwr levels, "k, kw, ntt, a5t, att" Should i have recorded exactly the exchange sent by the dx station? I usually recorded a "K" as "KW" and a "a5t" as "150" and a "ntt" as "900". Not recording the exchange exactly may have been a blunder on my part.

thanks for any advice es 73

bill capps
af4od

RE: post contest review of qso's errors Reply
by N2MG on February 23, 2001 Mail this to a friend!
Fixing errors after the contest is a highly controversial subject. I'll try to be fair to the various "camps".

<<Most of the errors were beginner mistakes like recording an "h" for a "s" or a "4" for a "v".>>

Welcome to the club! Looking at packet spots this weekend, I saw that these mistakes were frequent.